Morocco extends state of health emergency until 10 July

On 11 June, phase 1 of the de-escalation begins, which will be asymmetrical and gradual
The President of the Government of Morocco, Saad Eddine El Othmani

AFP/ODD ANDERSEN  -   The President of the Government of Morocco, Saad Eddine El Othmani

The Governing Council, chaired by Saad Eddine El Othmani, approved on Tuesday the extension of the state of health emergency throughout the national territory to address the spread of COVID-19 until July 10, according to the Moroccan news agency MAP. This bill - No. 2.20.406 - decrees the extension of the state of health emergency from Wednesday 10 June at 6pm until Friday 10 July 2020 at 6pm, and allows the Executive to "take exceptional measures to limit the impact of this virus at various levels," according to MAP.

This Wednesday, it has also been announced that, as of 11 June, the gradual implementation of the plan to relax the confinement will come into force. A joint statement from the Ministries of the Interior and Health states that the public authorities may, in order to prepare for the resumption of normal life and economic and social activities throughout the country, "relax the sanitary confinement measures according to the epidemiological situation in each prefecture or province in a progressive manner and in several stages. This plan corresponds to the first phase of de-escalation, and provides for the resumption of economic activities at the national level - industrial, commercial, craft, local and small local trades, local commerce, liberal professions and similar occupations, and the opening of weekly souks. The establishments corresponding to restaurants and cafeterias with consumption in situ, hammams, cinemas and theatres will continue to be closed in this first phase.

Phase 1 also includes the relaxation of freedom of movement in the areas designated as number 1 (prefecture and provinces of the eastern region, provinces of the Beni Mellal-Jenifra region, provinces of the Draa-Tafilalet region), prefectures and provinces of Souss-Massa region, provinces of Guelmim-Oued Noun region, provinces of Laayoune-Sakia El Hamra region, provinces of Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab, prefecture of M'diq-Fnideq, province of Tétouan, province of Fahs-Anjra, Al Hoceima province, Chefchaouen province, Uezzan province, prefecture of Meknes, Ifran province, Moulay Yaacoub province, Sefru province, Boulman province, Taounat province, Taza province, Jemisset province, Sidi Kacem province, Sidi Sliman province, Settat province, Sidi Bennour province, Chichaoua province, Al-Haouz province, Kelaa de Sraghna province, Essauira province, Rehamna province, Safi province, Youssoufia province). In these regions, it will be possible to leave without a special permit to move within the territorial perimeter of the prefecture or province; urban public transport will be resumed with an occupancy rate of no more than 50% of the vehicle's capacity; there will be freedom of movement within the territorial perimeter of the place of residence, without the need for authorization (with the simple presentation of the electronic ID card); hairdressing and beauty salons will be reopened with a capacity of no more than 50% of the premises' capacity; public spaces will be reopened in the open air (promenades, gardens, public places, etc.) ); individual outdoor sports activities will be resumed (walking, cycling, etc.); and all other restrictions decreed during the state of health emergency will be maintained (ban on meetings, gatherings, parties, wedding celebrations, funerals, etc.). 

In the areas designated as number 2 (Tangier-Arcila prefecture, Larache province, Fez prefecture, El Hajeb province, Rabat prefecture, Sjirat-Temara prefecture, Kenitra province, Casablanca prefecture, Mohammedia prefecture, El Jadida province, province of Nouaceur, province of Mediouna, province of Bensliman, province of Berrechid and prefecture of Marrakech), the obligation to have an exceptional travel authorization for any departure, the closure of shops at 8 pm: 00 hours, the resumption of urban public transport without exceeding 50% of vehicle capacity and the maintenance of all other restrictions (ban on meetings, gatherings, parties, wedding celebrations, funerals, etc.). 

To date, Morocco has recorded 8,455 infections, 210 deaths and 7,496 people recovered from the disease.