Emirates reshuffles its government with some ministerial changes

A new Minister of Culture and a new head of the Ministry of Culture have been appointed

AFP/FAYEZ NURELDINE  -   Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum

UAE Prime Minister and Emir of Dubai Mohammed bin Rashid on Tuesday announced a government reshuffle with the appointment of a new Minister of Community Development and a new head of the culture portfolio, the second adjustment since the official appointment of Mohammed bin Zayed as the country's president in May 2022. 

The ministerial change "came after consultations with President Mohammed bin Zayed on making changes to the Federal Government's ministerial portfolios," bin Rashid said on his Twitter account. 

He detailed that Shamma bint Suhail al-Mazrouei has been appointed Emirati Minister of Community Development, adding that the decision also stipulated the appointment of Salem bin Khalid al-Qasimi (the UAE's delegate to UNESCO) as Minister of Culture and Youth. 

PHOTO/BANDAR ALGALOUD - Mohammed bin Zayed al-Nahyan

It has also been decided to appoint Hessa Bu Hamid and Noura al-Kaabi as Ministers of State in the Federal Government, while Maryam bint Ahmed al-Hammadi, the current Secretary General of the Council of Ministers, assumes the position of Minister of State due to "her efforts regarding all new government development legislations". 

The government reshuffle included attributing the post of director general of the prime minister's office to Omar bin Sultan al-Alama, who is already Minister of Artificial Intelligence. 

The first change in the government was announced on 22 May by Prime Minister Bin Rashid, who announced structural reforms in the education sector, with the appointment of a new education minister since the appointment of Mohammed bin Zayed as president. 

Bin Zayed, 61, had been the de facto leader of the UAE since his half-brother and predecessor, Khalifa bin Zayed, suffered a stroke that kept him out of the public eye and out of decision-making, until he was officially appointed president on 14 May following his death.